Rutland Street National School (formerly the Pro Cathedral School) was constructed between 1910 and 1912, as a response to the lack of school places and the conditions of existing school buildings in the North East Inner City. Designed by Aislin and Coleman Architects, it is an early example (more…)
Crampton Buildings forms a small city block with frontage onto Crampton Quay overlooking the river Liffey. Here are some images and notes about the extensive renovation works completed in 2016. (more…)
There has been discussion and reportage in the media recently on Dublin City Council’s flat complex regeneration plans, with particular focus on complexes built between 1930 and 1950.
To clarify, Dublin City Council has not planned the demolition of any of the blocks designed by Herbert Simms (aside from those already being redeveloped as part of the Teresa’s Gardens regeneration programme) nor planned de-listing of these blocks and there is no current suggestion of changing this position. (more…)
23.04.2018Kevin Street Library
Kevin Street Library is set in the south city centre and first opened to the public in 1904. As a flagship branch of Dublin City’s library network it stood as a cornerstone for the neighbourhoods it served, connecting people to each other and to their community. The Library was
Numbers 9 & 10 Fitzwilliam Street Lower, two Georgian houses on the Record of Protected Structures, have been carefully renovated and restored to provide supported temporary accommodation for people who are experiencing homelessness.
The Irish Georgian Society and Dublin City Council have assembled a team of conservation experts to present a series of talks on the history and significance of Dublin’s period houses and practical advice on their conservation. Attendance at the talks will greatly benefit owners of all periods and types of houses, from the modest Edwardian artisan dwelling to the substantial red-bricks of the Victorian suburbs and the fine townhouses of our Georgian city squares, providing an ‘A to Z’ for their care and conservation.
Dublin City Council in conjunction with the Department of Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs are inviting applications for the Built Heritage Investment Scheme 2017 and the Structures at Risk Fund 2017.
During Dublin City Architects recent and ongoing research of The Aungier Estate we discovered what we believe to be one of the earliest surviving original 1893 Charles E. Goad’s Fire insurance plans of Dublin City centre.
The historic fire insurance plans were found right here in Dublin City Council Offices on Wood Quay. The plans were entrusted to the councils Law Department after being salvaged from the basement in City Hall, which at the time was being cleared of its contents.
Ever wondered why there is such a dominance of churches and distilleries in the Liberties area? Why there is still such a strong tradition of markets and industry?
Join Dublin City Conservation Officer, Nicki Matthews, to explore how the supply of water moulded the Liberties into the area it is today.
22.07.2015Aungier Estate Walking Tour
A walking tour of the Aungier Estate, organised by the Irish Architecture Foundation, took place on Thursday 9th July. Tour guides included Nicki Matthew, Architectural Conservation with Dublin City Council, and Marc Richie from the conservation office in the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht.
The tour sought to highlight the origins of 17th century Aungier Estate from the more familiar successor Georgian era, exploring it’s rich cultural heritage while also considering opportunities for the regeneration of the area.